Many people blame increasing crime rates for violent television programs. Others believe means of media offer many helpful ways to raise public awareness. Discuss both views state your opinion.

Some individuals argue that violent television programs leads to increasing crime rates. However, I agree with the idea that means of media bring a variety of benefits to raise public awareness.

To begin with, there are quite plausible reasons for rising crime rates because of broadcast programs which are violent. First of all, the content of television programs are not strictly controlled. In other words, the excess of violent content would be affected children’s curiosity. As a result, being approached these in a long period leads to the imitation of children who could become juvenile crimes. In addition, crime is one of the popular subjects of most news programs. For example, the mass media focuses on violent and sensational crimes to attract more viewers. Consequently, a child would find it naturally to acquire detrimental behaviours which they have seen every day when growing up in a violent crime-ridden community.

On the other hand, convincing argument can be made that means of media contribute to raise general consciousness. First and foremost, technology’s development leads to means of media’s one which can improve people’s knowledge. To be more specific, it gives individuals chances to access to the huge and unlimited knowledge about arts, expertise and languages. Secondly, means of media can make learning more interesting. For instance, Vietnamese teenagers can watch documentary films about Vietnam war to study about Vietnam history, instead of reading a book which has a great number of words without real pictures.

In conclusion, although there are a wide range of reasons why violent programs can impact in increasing crime rates, I am convinced that means of media have a part in raising general awareness.