Many people choose to travel abroad to learn a foreign language instead of studying in their hometown.

Do the advantages of learning a new language in this way outweigh the dis advantages?

Knowing a second language nowadays is more and more mandatory because of the globalization process. Therefore, a certain demographic of society opts to go abroad to familiarize themselves with a language in lieu of staying in their hometown. To certain people, although the disadvantages are present, they are negligible compare to the advantages it induces. To others, however, the disadvantages may be insurmountable.

There are some cons to this way of studying and the most notable is the exorbitant prices. Studying abroad tends to be expensive because you not only pay for your tuition but also the accommodation, the food, and the travel expenses. This is probably the biggest drawback that deter many people. If one can comfortably finance this studying route, it will be an excellent choice. However, if ones struggle with financial adversities, they could end up with a lot of debt, therefore, adversely affect their ability to focus on the language learning because of the money anxiety. Ultimately, if the disadvantages of studying abroad cannot be properly addressed, it will interfere with the end goal which is mastering the new language.

The benefits of learning a foreign language in its native country are manifold. Firstly, the environment is perfectly suitable to immerse oneself in the language because students are going to be surrounded by natives and their culture. This makes learning incredibly intuitive because they can utilize all their time for studying both actively and passively. In addition, practicing will be an ease because they will have more chances to communicate with native speakers whom can also be their teachers. Secondly, through living, students can also understand their culture, the way natives think and interact with each other, which can be a far more valuable than mastering the language itself because essentially, most students are not just learning the language but the way to communicate with natives. And language is although an indispensable part but not everything in a conversation. For example, an acclaimed linguistic professor may not necessarily communicate with a person better than someone who share their experiences and values. Clearly, there is a lot to be gained from such opportunity.

In conclusion, in a globalization age, mastering a second language is increasingly important and studying it in a native environment is an excellent option if one can afford it.