University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalization is the goal of many countries nowadays, as a result, the number of students who opt for overseas university degree is rising. Although there may be some draw backs like prohibitive expenses and cultural differences, I am of the belief that the pros like the ability to connect to a wide range of people and the charismatic personality one can develop are worth the cons.

Studying in another country have many justifiable advantages. For instance, students will live in a culturally diverse environment, which can induce fondness and therefore knowledge about many parts of the world. This can be extremely valuable as this allows them to connect with different people from other cultures. This skill is not only treasurable in communicating but it can be of the essence in a work environment. To further elucidate, a lot of Vietnamese ex-abroad students are desirably successful. Although it can’t be denied that their professional skills are important, but their social skills also play a paramount role. In addition, students who live far from their hometown must overcome both environmental and probably language barriers. When they surmount these adversities by adapting, they will, as a result, gain priceless experience and be more confident, competent and charismatic.

Despite its prominent advantages, getting a university degree abroad does have its drawbacks. Financially, because international universities have to meet higher standards, their tuition is inevitably more exorbitant. Combining that with accommodation, food, and other expenses, the financial difficulty may be insurmountable to many families. This, however, can be overcome with scholarships or loans. Another problem many students may face is cultural differences. Despite the difficulties it poses, as it was afore-mentioned, when they surmount this adversity, it will become an advantage as they can connect with a wider range of people from all over the globe.

Inconclusion, with the main drawbacks and advantages being discussed, I believe the personal growth and social skills justify the financial and cultural requirements of an abroad university degree.