University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the number of university students, who are enthusiastic to have educational courses in foreign countries, have been gradually increasing. While there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this topic, the positive aspects take precedence over the drawbacks.

Study in institutes around the world would be beneficial for variety of factors. One of the main factors is being independent, in other word, foreign students learn how they can stand on their own feet in different circumstances. Frequently, students are living far from their parents with having only a budget during their education to combat with unpredictable happenings. Therefore, they gain managing skills such as, saving money for rainy days. Sometimes, foreign students had to work part time to handle their cost of living. For instance, my brother is a kind of person who being independent after his education in other country because he forced to work during his education for housing cost and currently he lives separately from my parents.

Despite the existence of benefits, foreign students may have culture shock experience when they encounter with different culture and religion due to communicate with aboriginal people with diverse beliefs which can usually lead to bother students. Students normally are shocking with some exotic ceremony or special behaviors which are prohibited in their religion or culture. Consider that an Indian student who worships cows wants to study in Iran, a country in which people have some particular events such as Ghorban Eid that they kill cows as a gift for god, so this ritual may be irritating for the Indian student.

In conclusion, although there are a few disadvantages such as culture shock regarding the study in abroad, there are plethora of advantages namely, being autonomous that outweigh the negative aspects.