Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative way of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime has been an agonizing problem in our society through out history, as a result, many solutions have been proposed to mitigate this issues. For instance, increasing the amount of time spent in prison of criminals is believed by some to be the optimal solutions. Others, however, are of the opinion that there are superior alternatives. Personally, I am of the belief that the first method is incredibly effective and it can be enhanced by combing with education.

Increasing the sentences to reduce crime rate is a valid solution. This mean the law enforcement will give out stricter punishments for criminals. This increase can deter individuals who have malicous intent and hopefully prevent them form commiting crimes. In Vietnam, for example, many minorities turn to poaching wild animals or smuggling drugs for a living because the time in confinement is meager compare to the lucrative income. If the authority enforce longer sentences, it should curb this issues.

Bettering the education system can also help in alleviating crimes. Most crimes can be attributed to the lack of money, which leads to reckless behavior. Helping people to have better jobs via sharing skills and knowledge can significantly improve poverty, and therefore, crime rate. Affluent neigborhoods perfectly exemplify this theory, the residents here have higher income, as a result, the number of criminals here is almost negligible. In contrast, this number is substancially higher in places with lower income. This instance shows that increasing financial competence of the overall populations via education can be the key to reducing crimes to a unnoticeable figures.

In conclusions, although confining inmates for a longer period of time is not the most effective all-around solution, the preventative efficacy of it is high. If this is executed in combinations with helping people to have better professional skills, it can lead to an incredibly competent solution for curbing crimes.