Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century & sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions?

The 21st century is a glorious period for humans thanks to the utilization of fossil to fuel our industrial evolutions, but this also means that we are facing one of our greatest common enemies, which is global warming. This causes countless problems which include raising the sea level. This issue is global and over the century, it has caused problems such as decreasing the accommodation lands and weakening the coastal tourist businesses. Therefore, it is imperative that we must address these problems by improving our infastructures.

The rising sea level means that the ocean is invading the lands. This causes households near the beaches to face with flooding. As a result, these residents are forced to move their houses which is an exorbitant process. In addition, the invading water also adversely affect tourist attractions around the beaches as it causes the landscapes to change and the destinations themselves to be drowned in salt water . If these situations are not solved, they could desvastatingly impact the travel business and, therefore, the economy.

In order to tackle this rising problems governments should strengthen our defenses against flooding by building higher dams. In additions to artificial ones, we should also plant more salt water trees whichs act like natural dams in crucial areas. These doings will curb the corrosion of the lands and hopefully prevent the damages. Futher more, we can also build houses to adapt to or float on the rising water in lieu of relocating. These houses should be long term solutions because if we can’t reverse the green house effect in the next few decades, scientists suggest that our dams will have little effect facing the ocean. Although it seems impossible but the possibility of this method is evidenced in Italy where a big portion of houses is built on water.

In conclusion, the raising of water level is a alarming global phenomenon and it can causes detriments to the coastal area, therefore, all of us via the economy. This is why all authorities should act swiftly to counteract these changes by enforcing flooding defenses and redesigning coastal buildings.