Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment.

Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

Nowadays, communities are persistently utilising vehicles despite being cognizant of their negative effects on the environment. In this essay, I would like to identify the causes of this situation and propose some corresponding solutions.

Probably the main factor is the accessibility and comfort of automobiles and motor vehicles in urban areas. In other words, the possession of a vehicle provides availability and convenience for both the passenger and the driver. To exemplify this, when it is required to commute, employees can drive comfortably and peacefully without complying with specific time schedules of the public transportation system. Furthermore, drivers can cover a longer distance in a shorter amount of time because they can control the acceleration and deceleration of their vehicle, hence avoiding lengthy and frustrating journeys. Another contributing factor to this is safety concerns that are identified as a barrier to people using the public transportation system. For instance, people fear the criminal behaviour a passenger might commit, such as theft and pickpocketing due to the anonymity, openness and overcrowding of the public transportation system. Consequently, the public avoids using buses or trains as a means of transport and public services find it strenuous to control and monitor such vast systems.

Regarding potential solutions, probably the main remedy would be to invest more in transport infrastructure. This can be attained through ameliorating railway systems and initiating more stations in inaccessible rural areas. Moreover, improve bus services by employing conductors who prevent overcrowding and anti-social behaviour. Another solution is to make cheaper and more standardised fares. Therefore, if ticket prices are reduced, then people will find it more affordable than petrol. the final solution might be to encourage people to cycle more since it is not only beneficial for the environment but also for an individual’s health. This can be achieved by raising awareness and initiating campaigns about the advantages of cycling in conserving energy and non-renewable resources which are constantly consumed by car drivers. As a result, the public will be motivated to use public transport to commute instead of cars and motorcycles and reduce the rate of harmful emissions.

In conclusion, the majority of people favour the utilization of personal automobiles due to various reasons. However, possible solutions would involve improving transport infrastructure, reducing costs and raising awareness of the negative effects of commuting by car and motor vehicles.