Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment.

Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

Nowadays, communities are persistently utilising vehicles despite being cognizant of their negative effects on the environment. In this essay, I would like to identify the causes of this situation and propose some corresponding solutions.

Probably the main factor is the accessibility and comfort of automobiles and motor vehicles. In other words, the possession of a personal vehicle provides availability and convenience for both the passenger and the driver. To exemplify this, when it is required to commute, employees can drive comfortably and peacefully without complying with specific time schedules of the public transportation system. Furthermore, drivers can cover a longer distance in a shorter amount of time because they can control the acceleration and deceleration of their vehicle, hence reaching their desired destination on time. Another contributing factor to this is the fear of the physical condition of public transportation methods, where they’re perceived as dangerous and unreliable. In addition, safety concerns were identified as a barrier to people using public transportation. Stated differently, people fear the criminal behaviour a passenger might commit, such as theft and pickpocketing due to the anonymity, openness and overcrowding of the public transportation system. Consequently, public services and the government find it strenuous to control and monitor such vast systems.

Based on the above reasoning, comprehensive solutions have been identified. The first solution is that the government should invest more in transport infrastructure, to make it more reliable and comfortable for passengers. This can be attained through ameliorating railway systems and initiating more stations in inaccessible areas. Moreover, improve bus services by employing conductors who prevent overcrowding and anti-social behaviour. The next solution is to make cheaper and more standardised fares. Therefore, if ticket prices are reduced, then people will find it more affordable than petrol. The final solution is to encourage people to cycle more since it is not only beneficial for the environment but also an individual’s health. This can be achieved by raising awareness and initiating campaigns about the advantages of cycling in conserving energy and non-renewable resources which are constantly consumed by car drivers. As a result, the public will be motivated to use public transport to commute instead of cars and motorcycles and reduce the rate of harmful emissions.

In conclusion, many people favour the utilization of personal automobiles due to various reasons. So the key is, I believe, to take actions such as improving transport infrastructure, reducing costs and raising awareness of the negative effects of commuting by car and motor vehicles.