Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted.

Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

Urbanisation has become a global phenomenon. The influx of migrants, students and job hunters has caused the overcrowding and pollution of metropolises worldwide. This essay will outline the main causes of the congestion of cities and suggest ways in which it can be resolved.

The two main contributing factors to the congestion of cities are inadequate employment opportunities and poor infrastructures in rural areas. Firstly, large-scale mechanization of agriculture in small communities has possibly put many people out of work, while at the same time opportunities for other means of employment are increasingly limited. Therefore, the limited access to youth employment and low wages have likely encouraged a large number of young people to transfer to cities. Second, rural areas lack basic infrastructures such as public transportation systems, healthcare and educational facilities. For example, when residents of small towns want to seek medical treatment, they have to travel long distances to reach the nearest clinic or hospital. Also, students have limited or no access to basic learning tools or technologies, and thus they seek higher education in metropolises.

Regarding potential solutions, one effective method would be to reduce rural-urban migration by increasing investments in basic amenities such as healthcare clinics, high-quality schools, public libraries and self-employment facilities. This is likely to lessen the number of people migrating and promote job creation for inhabitants of the area. Another possible solution is for governments to invest more in the public transportation system and transport infrastructure. If the government worked on adding bus lanes, widening roads and building tunnels, then it can alleviate traffic congestion and improve commuters’ productivity.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the issue of city congestion and to reduce the influx of migrants into urban areas.