Most major cities around the world continue to grow at a phenomenal rate due to the massive increase in population. This has led to a general decline in the quality of life in city areas as the environment becomes more crowded and polluted.

Give some reasons why this growth has occurred and suggest some practical solutions to this problem.

Nowadays, migrating to cities for better life and future is becoming major trend in the world and these issues are leading to the problem of declining quality of life and environmental problem in urban area. The essay will examine the cause of urban growth and possible measures to solve the problems.

To begin with, one of the major causes of growing urban area is centralized policy of country in developing countries rather than developed countries. people always want to enjoy every modern facility rather than living in rural. Moreover, people tend to migrate in city area for better employment opportunities and to earn and save for future. For instance, the recent research had revealed that, the pollution level of Kathmandu is increasing day by day and it is one of the most polluted city of Asia because of over population. likewise, the living cost of Kathmandu is much higher than other cities in Nepal. Furthermore, higher living standard, better medical facilities , quality education are also major cause of over population in urban area. However, lack of modern technology, poor crops yield, lack of infrastructure also leads the people to migrate to city for betterment of next generation. However, all this causes have a high impact on decreasing quality of life and spoil the nature in urban area.

On the other hand, government and local authority must give emphasis on solving the problems of urban growth. First and foremost, decentralized policy must be applied in country, the people of particular nation can enjoy all facilities evenly. Creating employment opportunities, improving infrastructure in rural area, proving modern technology and subsidies for farming can help to make people stay in the same place where they are born.. In addition, medical and better health care, quality of education for all children and other basic amenities must be evenly distributed to all over the country to reduce the overpopulation and environmental problem in cities area.

In conclusion, colossal population increase in urban area are impacting the quality of lives in cities. So, the concern authority must investigate the major causes and implement the policies to solve these problems.