Many people do not feel safe either at home or they are out. What are the causes, and what can be done to make people feel safer?

The standard of people’s life become more and more comfortable recently, while an increasingly people feel unsafe both at home and outside. In this report, I intend to analyse the causes about this phenomenon and give my solutions.

From my personal view, I think there are several reasons that cause this unsafety feeling. To begin with, as the fast economic development, many people become richness. By contrast, there are many people still struggling for living. Serious income gap promotes some people commit a crime, such as robbery or theft. In addition, medias broadcasts many negative news on TV everyday, which make people think their communities are dangerous. Moreover, laws are not comprehensiveness and strictness in some countries. This means that people who break laws may not get a harsh punishment and this lead to high crime rates.

I have some advices to address this problem. Firstly, governments should spend more money on police service. They need to increase the number of policeman on the road to protect people. Furthermore, governments should help those poor people to improve their employability. Many people steal or rob because they do not have a steady source of income, if governments help them find a job, it will decrease the crime rates and make people feel safer. Last but not least, medias should provide more positive news to audience instead of bad news to improve the safety feeling of our communities.

In conclusion, feeling safe is a basic requirement for our communities, governments have responsibility to protect people and provide a better social environment. I think if governments and relative departments can do what I mentioned above, the problem will be solved in future.