In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

The traffic congestion problem increases more serious in recent decades, due to more and more people have their private cars. Under this situation, some governments introduce a congestion tax during rush hour to try to reduce the negative phenomenon. In this article, I intend to discuss the pros and cons about this policy and give my opinion.

We cannot deny that imposed a congestion tax during pecking time is a great solution to address traffic jam. To begin with, extra tax for people to use their own car can increase their daily budget. Therefore, many people may choose public transport service instead of using their private cars and this can reduce many vehicles on the road. In addition, the congestion tax can drive people to choose their on-road time alternatively. They can avoid rush hour and choose other time to go out. Moreover, the congestion tax can bring more money to governments, which can help governments spend more money to improve the public transport service and road system.

Although this policy can bring many benefits to our life, it also has some drawbacks that governments may need consider. Firstly, more tax may increase people’s life pressure, especially to low-income families. Furthermore, if governments impose this regulation, many people many avoid rush time and choose other time to go out, which may cause anther traffic congestion.

In conclusion, in general, I think this development is positive, but governments should have a comprehensive plan before introducing this policy to reduce the drawbacks .