Many people join distance learning programs (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, but some people think that it cannot bring the same benefits as attending colleges or universities does. Do you agree or disagree?

While distance-learning via electronic media has become a popular trend in contemporary life, I would argue that this type of education would not be the better choice for college students than the traditional face-to-face classrooms.

On the one hand, there are many reasons why Elearning has been so prevalent in many countries. Firstly, it is noteworthy that more people would have opportunities to have access to the higher education system. Admittedly, workers and stay-at-home parents can enrol in any suitable courses without worrying about their primary tasks under the flexible schedule, location, and cheaper tuition fee. With enhanced specialized knowledge and techniques equipped, they could have higher living standards. A recent study reported that 84% of learners, who completed at least one online course, had a wage raise after that. Secondly, Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs), provided by prestigious Universities and responsible organization, continued to be created and launched as aggressively as ever. An article, conducted by Class Central at 2017 MOOC roundup series, indicated that the total number of MOOCs that year rose at 9400 from 6500 after one year.

On the other hand, there are many compelling reasons why I believe that college attendance is generally more suitable than Elearning. Firstly, dropout rates in online courses are considerably high. A survey, conducted by European Stakeholder Summit in 2017, showed that MOOCs offered by Standford, Massachusetts Institue of Technology and University of California Berkley had experienced dropout rates as high as 80-90 percent. Secondly, social interaction in traditional classes might enable students to acquire business know-how, which is helpful for their future working, namely presentation skill, teamwork skill. In particular, teamwork has to take place in a considerable number of university activities such as the midterm project, sports competition. They would gain experience to a certain degree about conflict management, confidence building as there is typically more than one voice of dissent.

With the thriving of the internet and technologies, distance learning has become a new approach to human knowledge in recent years. While it is technically true, the benefit distance learning brought has not much as attending colleges or universities.