Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?

Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In recent decades, films have been imported at an increasing rate and gained a lot of public attention. While there are several reasons behind this phenomenon, governments should take consideration into investment in the local films industries.

There are number of compelling explanations why people have a preference for foreign films and TV series. First, it is undeniable that foreign films seem to be more attractive and abundant than local ones with appealing motion pictures and talented actors in various genres. In fact, local film buffs often pay a lot of money to go to movies from other countries, especially the haven of silver screen like Hollywood. Second, thank to foreign films, local residents can get more ideas from overseas to obtain the opportunities to integrate into globalization and to fix their existing flaws for getting perfected. For example, South Korea culture has fewer flaws than North Korea one since it is more open for imported films.

However, the government should give more financial support to improve domestic film industries because of their benefits of national culture. First, motion pictures are an effective way to crystallize and project the intangible element of culture. Therefore, if local films are primary focus, viewers would find it easier to understand the beliefs, values, and assumption of culture, which can be difficult to achieve by using written forms. In addition, producing more local movies will enrich the cultural library. For instance, by being taken care of government in the film industries, the Indian culture seems to be more vivid and unique than other nations with fewer local works invested.

In conclusion, foreign films play an integral part in the moral films of people and there are several reasons for that. However, local officials should recognize the benefits of local films and have suitable attention to them.