The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It true that some argue the older generations’ views have become outdated and unsuitable for younger generations to prepare for their future. Although I agree that some are too traditional, I believe the others are still useful and necessary.

On the one hand, there are some notions of previous generations now being old-fashionable. Firstly, in the past, people insisted that students should learn some key subjects to pursue certain occupations such as doctors, professors or lawyers. With time, nowadays youth have the chance to chase their passion in other fields of society and the opportunities seem more variable and diverse than before. Secondly, the traditional belief about overestimates men above women has been unacceptable and irrelevant in the new world. Moreover, if older generations were likely to control and set up a marriage of their children, now young would choose the life partners on their own.

On the other hand, there are some traditional values that youngers should foster and not be forgotten. The sense about the community and the vital role of the family that the senior established still have a powerful impact on modern life. In fact, younger generations with busy work are often far from home and even become isolated and selfish. In addition, in order to integrate into the globalization, youth should stick in the characteristics of good manners and behaviors that elders who speak from experience give advice. Finally, the traditional believes also ensure to preserve the culture, which teaches young about their originals.

In conclusion, while there are some irrelevant ideas of older generations, youngsters should not negate all of them but nurture the traditional values.