As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent day, businesses’ obligation has become a controversial issue around the world. Although some assume that the primary purpose of the company is making profits, I strongly believe that they also should have social responsibilities.

On the one hand, there are several convincing arguments why businesses would have simply focused on making money. First, in the competitive condition, companies need enough capital to cover many kinds of expenditure such as worker’s wage, good costs. Moreover, in order to sustain and grow businesses, it is essential to improve the material facilities and expand their market, which needs much money from return earning. Second, if a company have a great risk of being ruined, it would have a detrimental effect on society. For instance, start-up companies often fail because of troubles about generating and revolving capital to maintain their purchase activities, which make a great loss either money or human resources.

On the other hand, it is vitally important that companies should show a sense of social responsibilities. First, since the rising number of industrial businesses recently causing a lot of environmental damage, corporations would take immediate actions to protect the natural habitat. For example, more and more companies have contributed to the project related nature such as constructing recycle the building, investing in environmentally friendly facilities. In addition, instead of exploiting worker, they should give the remuneration package to treat fairly and attract talented employees. Besides, by raising funds for charity, it is conducive to help those who lack the fortune like homeless or disabled citizens. Consequently, this will facilitate society and enhance the image of the brand.

In conclusion, although making profits is the top priority, companies also should consider social responsibility as a fundamental obligation.