Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent decades, people around the world have two distinguish views causing some public controversy about the choice of how many subjects students should make in university. Although some might suggest that students should be forced to study some certain subjects, I completely agree with those who believe that it would be better when they can choose to study whatever they want.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people argue that universities should only allow students to pursue practical subjects. First, from the personal point of views, the stem subjects such as medicine, engineering, and technology are able to provide much more job opportunities, chances of promotion and a higher salary than others. As a result, citizens have more sources to improve the quality of their life. Second, in the economics’ perspective, the government can take control of output human resources and narrow the gap of cognition and experience among nations. Moreover, by being geared the challenging knowledge from these useful subjects, students can play an important role in boosting grow economics and international integration.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that students should be given free hand to choose the course they want to access. It can be seen that passion would be the key factor help students to facilitate society. In fact, suitable subjects would encourage students to research and dig for more information than compulsory disciplines. In addition, people are unable to predict which exact fields will be the most popular and really useful in the future. Consequently, some mental states relating the art areas like creative thinking, history, and philosophy might be overestimated above the technical skills.

In conclusion, it is clear that only allowing certain key disciplines in universities can benefit either students or the whole country’s economy. However, it seems better to support the idea that students have their own right to pursue what subjects they want.