In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, people have been likely to live alone especially in the metropolises in developed countries. Personally, I consider that this growing trend could have both a positive and negative aspect.

On the one hand, living alone can bring several benefits to either an individual’s life or the whole economy’s development. First, by choosing not to marry, single people would have chances to contribute their own skills. In fact, the single life would require people to be less reliance on parents and give more freedom than people who live with their family, especially they have to learn how to take care themselves and manage their own budget. Second, to some extent, this tendency towards living alone can have a great positive impact on the country’s economy. For instance, in order to satisfy the demand on households from rasing in the number of single people, the construction industry, estate agent and housing-related companies need to be far more improved.

On the other hand, there is a myriad of negative consequences from living alone. First, besides being independence, people who prefer being alone have to experience some kind of feelings including homesick, loneliness and even isolation. More significantly, since nowadays, the cost of living has been higher than in the past, so as the result single person without any support or aid from relative have to deal with the burden of households bills and other expenditure. In addition, from an economic perspective, a small number of businesses could push up the rental and other household-related expenses, which put more pressure on those who choose to live alone.

In conclusion, living alone in modern life has become more and more popular and can benefit in many ways. However, it also brings drawback not only the individual but also the entire country’s economy.