Many people say that we now live in "consumer societies" where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our life.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our consumerist society material goods are fundamental. While quite a number of people give them too much importance, others use them in a sensible way. In this essay, I will discuss first why money and possessions can have a positive role in people’s lives, and why for others they have negative effects on their lives.

Salaries and material goods are fundamental to satisfy many basic needs, as well as pleasurable desires. It is undebatable that nearly the totality of services that people need such as transport, electricity and supplying of food have a cost in terms of money so that the necessity of owning money. However, a person does not have to become a workaholic in order to buy all the things desired or promoted or to accumulate wealth but they can decide to work a fair amount of hours in order to buy the necessary things needed and leave enough time for leisure activities.

Some people spend all their time to work every day and this can negatively affect their quality of life. A typical example is given by my housemate who complains to have no time to enjoy his life because of his two full-time jobs. When I suggested that he should leave one of the jobs, he disagreed because he wants to save as much money as he can even if it will be overwhelming. Another example is given by people who buy a luxury car in order to appear to be rich even if they have a low salary. So, they may have to overwork to pay the bank loan for the car and cannot enjoy most of their time.

In conclusion, it is clear from my essay that while some people manage money in a rational way, others do not. Some people work in order to earn the right amount of money and enjoy their free time, whereas others do not enjoy the free time because of the desire to accumulate money.