Many people say that we now live in "consumer societies" where money and possessions are given too much importance. Others believe that consumer culture has played a vital role in improving our life.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In our consumerist society material goods are fundamental. While quite a number of people give them too much importance, others use them in a sensible way. In this essay, I will discuss first why money and possessions can have a positive role in people’s lives, and why they can have a negative effect.

Salaries and material goods are fundamental to satisfy many basic needs, as well as pleasurable desires. It is undebatable that nearly the totality of services that people need such as transport, electricity and supplying of food have a cost in terms of money so that the necessity of owning money. For instance, living without electricity or money to buy food would be a serious problem for almost everyone. Hence, owning money to satisfy our needs is necessary, provided that the activity of earning money does not impede a person from having some free time.

Many people overwork in order to accumulate as much wealth as they can. According to sociologists, 45% of Americans overwork in order to buy goods that make them appear to have a high social status, such as a luxury car or designer clothes. Researchers from Harvard Medical School have found that there is a positive correlation between overworking and the increased risk of diseases such as diabetes, depression, and stroke. As a result, people who overwork in order to show off a higher social status then they hold may be less happy than before and increase the risk of acquiring certain diseases.

In conclusion, it is clear from my essay that although some material possessions are fundamental for people, other goods are symbols of vanity and power, causing some people to overwork and badly affect their health.