Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that people are not able to help improve the environment because only big firms and governments can do such a thing. I do not concur with this view because although governments' policies can set laws to discipline firms and citizens, thereby play a compelling role in protecting the environment, individuals can still play a significant role too.

In this essay, the issues of plastic pollution and deforestation will be discussed.

The huge amount of plastic refuse which is produced every day has become a global and threatening issue for the Earth and its living beings. Environmentalists are playing a significant role in tackling this problem by sensitising the public to the problem, and some governments have played their part too. For example, in the UK, the introduction of a 5p on single-use plastic bags has caused an 85% drop in plastic bag usage. Outstanding results were reached by producing a BBC documentary series called "Blue Planet" which show the beauty of the oceans while denouncing plastic pollution. In fact, 85% of people who watched the series changed their lifestyles from being consumerist to being environmentally friendly. Thus, people who are not part of a government branch can still greatly contribute to saving the environment.

Deforestation is the main cause of the greenhouse effect and it has effects on the whole planet. A higher number of people is trying to reduce deforestation by protesting against it, cutting down meat, palm oil consumption, or protesting. For example, due to protests against it which drew global attention to the problem, intensive logging of threes in the Amazon has slowed. The collaboration of NGO like Greenpeace, big food companies and the Brazilian Government, has meant that a moratorium on logging has been set up. Therefore, it is evident that society as a whole has to fight to preserve the environment.

In conclusion, there is evidence that individuals or group of individuals have played a significant role in slowing down pollution and deforestation. However, a lot of work has yet to be done to save our planet.