Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether new forms of communication, which are made possible by modern technology, are having side effects on the quality of our relationships or are just improving them. I completely agree with the first opinion due to several reasons that I will discuss in greater detail in my essay.

It is widely believed that modern technology has improved our lives in many aspects, particularly, the way we communicate. Since the advent of the cellphone and the smartphone, we have immediate access to the internet and its infinite possibilities, including, for example, the instant messaging system. this improvement made possible for people to communicate faster and further, and we can continue to keep in touch with long-distance friends and distant family members. E-mails and web conference calls are frequently used in companies to run businesses overseas. The advantages of modern technology are not a limited number.

On the other hand, the drawbacks leave people confused about their opinion on this topic, including myself. The improvement in the speed of communication has created a sense of impatience in everyone, which is not a good trait. People were used to waiting for days, even months, before getting a response letter back but modern society seems to not know what waiting means. One good illustration of this is the sense of anticipation we get even before pressing the "send" button on our smartphone. What happens if the other person does not send a message back immediately? We start to feel nervous. Instant messaging has made us more controlling and demanding.

To conclude, I believe that the advantages brought about by modern communication technology have helped our society to progress quite impressively, but those improvements did not better the quality of our relationships. Hence, I am inclined to the opinion that those technologies have a negative effect on our social life