Many people think that museums will be replaced by technology as most information can be found free online. Others believe that museums are still important.

Will museums no longer be needed in the future?

Is this a positive development?

Humanity has been trying to save the legacy of ancestors throughout the history. There is an assumption that museums are an essential source of data of human development. Other people suppose that in the near future technology will supersede them due the fact it is considered fast and convenient to search information in the Internet. This essay will discuss the necessity of museums and consequences of introducing digital developments in this field.

Firstly, museums implement the role of depository keeping the artifacts and documents about events that took place several centuries ago. Therefore, the authorities organize and sponsor archeological expeditions for exploring ancient materials in order to analyze and make them open to public scrutiny. It means that in this historical institution people can easily scrutinize the process of human evolution. For instance, according to survey results of the Russian academy of sciences practically 90 % of visitors trust the information presented in museums. Thus, museums ought to exist since this institution enable humanity to explore and save their heritage and also transfers it to offsprings.

However, technologies will replace museums in the future because even now current generation are applying the internet to seek historical information, but this aspect will possess negative effects. Thereby, every year the amount of misinformation is rapidly increasing, thus people cannot be confident in credibility of history. This is because data provided by the Internet can be hacked and deliberately rewritten and users are unable to verify them without visiting a museum. In other words, replacement museums by digital resources will have negatory results for knowledge of history.

In conclusion, this essay shed light on the importance of museums and put forward some negative consequences of replacing them by technology.