Cybercrime, such as hacking and identity theft, has developed a negative stigma towards online platforms in people’s minds. However, there are simple solutions that render the majority of people safe. In this essay, some of the negative effects of cybercrime will be discussed, and solutions to prevent them will be provided.

The effects of cybercrime on the victims’ lives can be catastrophic. The most harrowing of these effects, and ironically the least devastating, is the monetary damage. Hackers often use diabolical methods such as fake payment websites or scam emails to learn their victim’s bank information and drain them of money. Once a bank account is compromised, it often remains susceptible to future attacks and makes it easier for hackers to rob people of their money. However, experienced hackers often opt for far more damaging attacks. Hackers and identity thieves can cause the victim to lose authority over their own online persona. They can use the victim’s information to scam their close friends and acquaintances, send damaging posts in social media, or even incriminate the victim by using their fraudulent information to commit a crime.

Fortunately, nearly all of these damages can be avoided using simple preventative measures. Firstly, people should treat online platforms with prudence. It is important to retain security by creating long complicated passwords and not sharing one’s private information with others. In addition, one should be quick to react to potential threats. If news spread that a certain online service has been compromised, people using that website should quickly change their security information in order to stop the attack from spreading far. Lastly, it is also important to avoid oversharing ever detail of one’s life over social media. This information can often be used maliciously in order to detect and abuse weaknesses in the victim’s personality and security.

It is often said that online attacks are bound to happen, and nothing can be done to ensure one’s safety. If you can keep your eyes open for potential threats and treat online platforms safely and securely, there is simply nothing to worry about.