Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports competition in recent years has gained a great deal of public concern. Therefore, whether a country should hold a global sporting event or not has been a controversy. While come school of thought argue that hosting an international sports event has detrimental effects on the host country, I am convinced that this tendency brings various benefits.

On the one hand, there are certain drawbacks that a nation suffers from holding a sports event. Firstly, numerous people travel to hosting country can lead to the deterioration of the environment. Specifically, some environmental-unconscious visitor may show their bad manner by throwing rubbish or split on the ground. As a result, these unacceptable behaviors are the culprits behind the contamination of the local environment and put native inhabitants' health at risk. Secondly, it requires a large amount of governments' funds to host a sport competition. To be specific, the country has to pay for a variety of exorbitant expense, from enhancing equipment quality to providing services for the participants. Consequently, this may result in a serious deficit in the government budget.

On the other hand, hosting a global sporting competition have numerous merits for the country. Firstly, the host nation can acquire more reputation by constantly appearing on the coverage of the media around the globe. As a result, global citizens may have more understanding about the culture of the host country and therefore gives rise to the tourism industry. Secondly, it is advantageous for native people when holding a sports event right in their country. Specifically, when the number of foreigner travel to a country increase, there may be a great demand of accommodation, consumption and services. Therefore, it can facilitate the employment opportunities and the profit generated from selling souvenirs or other necessary things.

In conclusion, although it is true that a sports event has some detrimental effects on the host country, I believe that its advantages should not be ignored.