Many of the products we buy nowadays break or wear out very quickly.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for manufacturers and the public?

It is only fitting that in nowadays fast-food society, consumables often seem to reach their life's end rather fast -- they either break shortly after purchase or they have worn out much faster than anticipated. As consumers we have learned to live with this seemingly undeniable law of nature. We even count on it, perhaps already thinking of the next product's iteration while we are at the counter paying for its current installment.

I suppose one could see this short life-cycle as advantageous as usually the less favourable endurability of products comes in conjunction with much lower prices. The credo is cheap products that do not last very long but you can have it often and always relatively new. So it seems that consumers have the better end of the deal, or do they? If one is not concerned with sustainability and quality of products, then surely there is nothing wrong with living a 'holistic' fast-food life, encompassing the entire breadth of consumables. On the other hand, with concerns over the environment being on an all-time high, I would rather argue that a more concious approach is warranted. Having products that last long produce much less waste and one simply has to spend less time in shopping malls looking for those gadgets that broke last week.

However, would the throw-away economy not serve businesses and the economy in general much better? The cynic in me says that all that waste surely offers other business opportunities, and indeed they do. Recycling industries are on the rise, even going so far as to export waste to developing nations. These, by the way, also have had enough of our waste and just recently a large shipment of waste was send back from Indonesia to Australia. So, while manufacturers apparently benefit most of the the poor life-time of their products it eventually will materialise as a problem, because there is just too much waste. Furthermore, to provide a different perspective, consumers do exist that are actually concerned about product quality and manufacturers will lose the trust of these consumers, who will be looking for better products from different manufacturers.