The average standard of people's health is likely to be lower in the future than it is now.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

That population health is forecasted to be decreasing relative to current standards is a real possibility in light of growing societies and accompanying problems. A worldwide phenomena is the ageing population across all demographics, which hitherto is unprecedented in the history of mankind. At the same time the number of newborns especially in developing countries remain relatively high. In conjunction with a larger populace come complications of various kinds, one such complication is environmental damage and pollution.

As societies grow older, the strain on limited financial resources for the health sector grows significantly – a vast percentage of healthcare spending goes to older people leaving less resources for other patients. The remedy to this problem would of course be to allocate more resources for example to build more hospitals. However, there is not an unlimited amount of spending available to address all societal problems and hence painful decisions have to be made. These decisions result for instance in long surgery waiting lists; an infamous example here would be the seven year waiting time for hip replacement in some states here in Australia. Not getting care speedily certainly contributes to deteriorating health circumstances, which then appears in the statististics leading to the initial forecast that health overall is in decline.

On the other hand, as societies grow larger pollution increases -- more people simply means more of damaging microparticles in the air, more carbon dioxide, the prime contributor of the greenhouse effect, and consequently more health problems. With worldwide proposals for a ‘new green deal’ to holistically tackle global warming and to protect the environment, the discussions in the context of global warming also affect population health. However, so far, no decisive comprehensive actions have been taken and ‘laissez-faire’ is still the favoured modus operandi of most political actors in power.

I therefore strongly agree with the statement that the people’s health is likely to be diminished in the future vis-à-vis current health standards, owing to an ageing and larger population in conjunction with significant environmental complications. In my opinion, remedies can only work in a holistic framework, tackling global warming, pollution and providing specialised health care for an ageing population.