Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

With the rise of globalisation, companies are spreading across different parts of the world. These companies sell things right from furniture to food items and hence the word supermarket. Big business tycoons setup multiple branches in different countries. As a result of which, the local markets are dying. There are numerous factors to this phenomenon, this essay will discuss the same along with a few plausible solutions.

One of the key causes of the problem is that, these big marts sell all the things necessary for living a comfortable life, which includes grocery, vegetables, fruits, clothing, electronics and many more things. It is basically a one stop location for everything. Moreover, all the items are at discounted prices which attracts the customers to buy more than required. For instance, supermarkets like Target have a plethora of products which provides special discounts during any local festivals. Likewise, they provide the facility to order things online for people who are too busy to travel to the store and home deliver it round the clock. It becomes very difficult for the local shops to compete with all these facilities due to which they loss a lot of customer base.

There are few possible solutions to tackle this problem. First and Foremost, the local shops should healthily compete and stay on par with the changing demands of the people like for instance, nowadays people are interested to try new things like a foreign fruit, if local retailers start selling them then it would definitely help their business. They could provide extra amenities like deliver at customers home door. Moreover, it is very important to strategize their business like provide good quality goods which the supermarkets greatly lack. Similarly, opening their store online, which will widen their scope of reach. Additionally, the government could take some minimal steps in terms policy and taxes to ensure local business are alive.

In conclusion, there are objective and subjective reasons for decline in small shops and the solutions might seem quite complex to implement, but in the long run it would be best for these shop owners to go through and see fruitful results.