Many societies need specialists in certain fields, but not others. Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive the government funding.

Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Supporting university fees for students who study necessary subjects might bring both advantages and disadvantages. However, I strong believe that this educational policy will carry more benefits than drawbacks.

There are some cons in this policy. Firstly, it is unfair to every students because government only pay fees for a part of all students. Poor students have to give up their dreams and study some subjects they do not like if they do not afford to pay university fees. Instead of this, government should support for students in difficult conditions, which will bring many benefits for individuals. Secondly, this policy will encourage the large number of students to study subjects government supports. In the long term, this leads to the excess of the number of specialists in some fields, which indirectly causes unemployment. If government does not use this policy in a flexible way, which will have negative effect on communities.

However, beside some disadvantages this educational policy also have some advantages. Firstly, this policy will enable government to train many students to become specialists such as doctors, teachers,… which satisfies social demand. Therefore, this policy solves the lack of specialists situation in a fast way. Secondly, it encourages parents and teachers to consider to some subjects which are neglecting. Goverment helps them know importance and necessarity of these subjects to society so they will support teenagers to study these subjects. As a result, many students are interested in these subjects and fields, so they will select these subjects to study.

All in all, students do not pay university fees in some subjects, which carry both cons and pros to individual and society. However, I think that it brings more many advantages