Many sports players advertise sports-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Today, advertising plays a crucial part in every business. Many sports stars and athletes advertise various sport related products. Although, it might result in better sales of the company, there are arguments that it can cause some problems. This essay examines both advantages and disadvantages of sports stars endorsing products.

To begin with, a product endorsed by a famous sport person generates a lot of sales and employment opportunities. By watching their star in an advertisement, people may be influenced to buy that product. For example, Virat Kholi are famous cricketer has started endorsing MRF cricket bats, which instantly boosted the sales of the company by 30%. Furthermore, sport persons generally advertise the item by playing their sport or by showing their skills. This encourages the youth of today to have an active and athletic lifestyle similar to the person in the advertisement.

The influence of advertisements with a famous personality in it, is significantly higher when compared to normal adverts. This leads to children, forcing their parents to buy them the desired product. For instance, a recent poll conducted by Time of India states that more than 45% of parents agreed to have spent 10% more money due to sports equipment for their children. In addition to this, companies pay very huge amount to the celebrity for marketing their goods. They plan to retrieve this amount by increasing the price of the product, therefore, further increasing the burden on parents to satisfy their loved one's desire.

In conclusion, there are various benefits for companies to which sport persons advertise for. However, there are greater disadvantages to parents because of their children, forcing them to buy rather costly items, which are endorsed by the their favourite celebrity.