Many students decide to further their study abroad.

What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad.

Studying overseas is commonly considered as their purpose in the future. Broadening horizons about the local culture and learning a foreign language are the merits. However, they tend to face the drawbacks, like high cost for living and departure requirement.

Having unusual experience through studying overseas among the international students will give them new lessons about the local wisdom. They will find the circumstance that is different than their own country although such students learn how to interact with the native or local communities who will guide them to experience the culture even the cuisine. Moreover, staying in another country means such people should communicate using their host country language which enhance their ability in order to learn such local language. For example, those who join the Youth Exchange Programme in Kyoto, Japan are obligated to speak Japanese regardless of the fluency because the native will help them to pronounce it well.

On the other hand, before the participants departure to their destination, they should fulfill the paperwork such as VISA because it is used for those who want entering another country. There are a lot of requirement like a copy of birthday certificate, family card, and passport. This process takes around one to three weeks, so students can arrange their itinerary while waiting the VISA. Following this, pupils should manage their own accommodation and living cost, so this can challenge those with limited budget. For instance, a group of students for the University of Indonesia who enrolled the International Students Exchange in the Harvard University last year spent their own money virtually $15,000 for each person as the budget to purchase their needs during a year programme.

In conclusion, the students who want to live abroad for studying purpose will get benefits and also drawbacks. Although they meet the local community who introduce them about novel culture and learning foreign language, they are challenged to arrange the documents and need a tremendous money to fulfill their living allowance.