Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?Task 2: Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that the level of concentration during lessons of students is decreasing in recent years.There are a number of reasons behind this tendency and several solutions should be adopted by the parents and educational institutions to improve the situation.

There are two main reasons why it is harder for students to focus at school. One reason is due to the popularity of portable electronic devices. These electronic devices such as computers or smartphones, which have an enormous variety of entertainment, are coded with algorithms to attract users to get addicted to their apps. In other words, students who own a smartphone may often spend time texting or watching videos rather than paying attention to the lessons. Furthermore, it may be due to the increasing amount of knowledge that students have to absorb per lesson. An example can be seen during a school day of Vietnamese students, with 8 hours of learning surrounded by subjects that are heavy in theoretical, which causes the reduction in break-time and attention of students. Consequently, students will feel more stressed and less interested in the lessons as time goes by.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent this problem. The first solution would be the limitation in the use of electronic devices. By limiting and managing the use of these devices for study purposes only, students not only can focus more on the lectures but also lessen the distraction by the ringing of notifications from smartphones. In the second measure, educational institutions increase physical activities between lessons. A timetable rotation between learning and exercising could simultaneously help students relax and train their minds and bodies. In true evidence, many curriculúm around the world have applied these measures and found them to be a success in increasing the overall effectiveness of a learning day.

In conclusion, the attracting entertainment from the internet as well as the increasing heaviness in knowledge volumes have reduced the level of concentration during lectures. In addition, counter measures of restricting the use of electronic devices and increasing physical activities can be done to solve these issues.