Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

In these salad days of the millennium, machines are playing a crucial role in making life easier. Most of the household chores are done by machines instead of hands. This essay will cast light on the positive and negative aspects of this development.

The greatest advantage of using machines for everyday tasks is it saves time. To be more precise, machines do the work quickly and one does not have to spend a great deal of energy on finishing the task. To exemplify, some home appliances such as washing machine, blender, and vacuum cleaner are used by women to complete the work swiftly without getting exhausted. Another advantage lies behind this notion is the tasks done by machines are quite accurate. For instance, a drill machine is used to drill the hole with perfection. Hence, machines play a vital role in saving time as well as doing the work with precision.

However, every coin has two sides. In spite of various merits of using machines at home, there are some demerits hidden under the carpet. Firstly, machines have propelled people towards the sedentary lifestyle that means no physical activity. This has further increased the risks of illness such as obesity, high blood pressure, etc. Secondly, people have become more dependent on machines. The work gets hampered if any machine stops working or is under repair. Reluctance is shown to find the other alternative or to do the work manually. Therefore, the increased usages of machines have put the people not only into bad shape but also have triggered some health issues.

To recapitulate, even though machines have augmented health-related concerns, people have gained a lot in terms of time-saving, and accuracy.