Many universities today are offering online courses for students as an alternative of courses delivered on campus. Do advantages outweigh of this development disadvantages?

With the advent of the Internet, several traditional classrooms are being replaced by online courses. I am of the opinion that the benefits of this trend eclipsed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, replacing offline courses by online classes is disadvantageous to a certain extent. The main drawback is that it get rid of physical interaction. Therefore, students could not develop social skills such as communication and teamwork skills, which can be gained by discussions and group activities in traditional classes. Another is that online learning may not possible for some subjects. For example, chemistry or engineering could not be learned at home with a computer because these subjects require a lot of specific equipment.

On the other hand, I believe that the advantages of this trends are more significant than its disadvantages. First, the prices of online classes is much cheaper than traditional courses. The reason is that running virtual classes does not involves numerous operation costs such as space, facilitiies and staff wages. Second, web-based classes are also very convenient. They help learners overcome time and geographical boundaries, which is particularly helpful for people in rural and remote areas.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks of delivering online courses instead of conventional one, my view is that they are outweighed by several benefits.