Some people think that it is more effective for students to study in a
group while others believe it is better for them to study alone. Discuss both
views and give your own opinions.
There are different views about whether or not people should study alone or
study in a group. While studying alone brings people many benefits, I believe that it
is better to study in a group.
On the one hand, the upside of studying alone can be seen evidently by
allowing learners to study at their own convenience with little dependence on other
people. The process of achieving knowledge is different from each individual in
terms of learning style. Also, in some cases, group study may not work well as study
sessions could easily turn into hangout sessions, so working alone seems to be
better.
On the other hand, I agree that group work brings more significant benefits in
effectively acquiring academic knowledge and creating motivation in learning. First,
group discussion plays an important role to help students understand what they have
learnt, which is normally not understandable at once, from school. Having other
students around to help review concepts can also offer a deeper understanding of the
class material. Second, many students may derive energy from being around other
people and look forward to learning and discussing the material with classmates.
This would create inspiration and a positive attitude towards learning, as well as
encourage the pursuit of further education.
In conclusion, while there are some students who may choose to study alone
because they can independently control their study and have no unnecessary
distractions from others, it seems to me that group study is more worthwhile
regarding comprehensive understanding and learning motivation.