Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that some university students are able to live with their families while studying in their home town although others are forced to live away from home in order to pursue their high standard educations. The following paragraphs are going to explore pros and cons of both these situations.

On the one hand, there are both benefits and drawbacks when university graduates live with their families. Firstly, one major upside is that they are able to economize, since they do not have to pay for accommodation. Secondly, they enjoy family support in terms of sharing meals, heating costs, possibly even sharing a room with a brother or sister. However, the home environment may also have its pitfall. One such negative aspect is family routines are often disruptive for students who have to concentrate on their studies in a quiet atmospheric condition. For example in the evenings or at weekends, without a dedicated space in which to study, it is extremely hard to keep up with a study schedule.

On the other hand, pupils living outside home also face a number of challenges. One such significant downside is having to find study friendly arrangement for residence with convenient appliances. Universities are often located in major urban centers, where graduates bear the responsibility of incredibly sky-rocketed house rents even with the basic facilities. Another most notable problem they face is strong homesickness or missing family members (parents and siblings), hence lack of family encouragement, even though some cope with this somehow by the passage of time. Nevertheless, there are obvious benefits of learning to study independently in another city. Students are able to escape the distractions of family life, and thereby establish study routines and form friendships with each others who find themselves in the same boat. These factors may help them in their graduation years.

In conclusion, while there will clearly be differences in the personal circumstances of individual university students, some potential advantages and disadvantages of living at home or staying away from home can be identified.