Many university students live with their families, while other live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

With the increasing number of people attending higher levels of education, whether living at home or mitigating to other cities is a controversial topic in today modern’s world. In my point of view, while I assume that both of these situations contain advantages and disadvantages, I would claim that living far from home has much more benefits than the rest.

On the one hand, the youngsters living with their families have many advanced benefits. They don’t have to worry about the financial problems because these undergraduates get their parents’ financial support to cover their tuition and live rent-free at their own houses. Moreover, living with parents could bring college students more leisure time to study instead of doing household chores. However, living in the cocoon of caring families also deters the young from growing up and being independent. The university students living at home usually rely on their parents’ help and money more than these living far from home. As a result, these students will have a high barrier of earning themselves living skills such as cooking, washing clothes. And they usually don’t have the intention of working to pay their own educational fee which lead to lack of working experiment.

On the other hand, living far away from home also contains both beneficial sides and shortcomings. To talk about the advantages of living in a different place to learn university, we have to concur that the undergraduate who have to acclimatize to new environments will have better living skills and more flexible solutions to tackle new problem popping up every day. Consequently, those living far from home could have many opportunities to be more mature and dependent. Nevertheless, it can’t be denied that living far from home could also have some drawbacks. First of all, these undergraduate could have gone through homesick and when they got hard time at school there was barely anyone to encourage and support them emotionally. Secondly, living in a new environment could make some students struggling to find new friends and distinguish the frauds to protect themselves.

To conclude, living with families when attending university is beneficial in a few aspects. However, I am firmly of the opinion that studying and living far away from home has more significant advantages that outweigh the drawbacks. Because of that, I highly recommend that people should encourage themselves or their children to study universities that far from their hometown to explore the world and learn new knowledge.