MANY OF THE WORLD’S ARE CURRENTLY FACING A SERIOUS HOUSING SHORTAGE. WHAT ARE SOME OF THE REASONS FOR THIS SHORTAGE AND WHAT SOLUTIONS CAN YOU SUGGEST?

In this today's fast changing world, the citizens are having to deal with the grave housing shortage in several megacities. From my point of now, there are a myriad of contributors to this problem as well as the keys to address the lack of accommodation

To start with, the housing shortage can boil down to several factors. The first thing to notice is the alarming rate of overpopulation, especially in big cities. When the inflows of immigrants keep pouring into the inner city in search of better living standards, it strikes heavy burdens to the land and the government. Hardly can the government cater enough housing in a short amount of time with limited space, in turn, results in the lack of accommodation. Moreover, it is the speculation of wealth that deters ordinary home-buyers from owning a house. Take the situation in Ha Noi as an example, since buy-to-let properties of the investors have increased, the price of accommodations is inflated and soon become out of reach of normal people.

Without doubt, people will be deprived of the chances of getting a house with a reasonable price.

However, there are a multitude of solutions to deal with the lack of housing in cities. The thing worth considering is that the government can develop more cooperative planning to construct efficient houses. They can, to some extent, subsidize "social homes for poor people before erecting enough plats. or condos to be on sale. Furthermore, some greenbelt land or plots of land for recreational use including parks or stadiums can be removed to make room for building houses. Nevertheless, there should be higher taxes on the land properties to bring disincentives to buy-to-let buyers. For example, if they realize that they have to pay more taxes for a house with fewer interests, they will tend not to invest in real estates, meaning less exorbitant prices. This can be a precursor for ordinary people to house and purchase their own decent and reasonable accommodation.

In conclusion, the lack of housing can be attributable to an unprecedented level of overpopulation as well as the housing bubbles in the real estate market. On the bright side, this problem can be tackled with the aid of the government in ‘social housing’ and better city planning and the decrease in speculation through higher taxes.