MANY OF THE WORLD’S ARE CURRENTLY FACING A SERIOUS HOUSING SHORTAGE. WHAT ARE SOME OF THE REASONS FOR THIS SHORTAGE AND WHAT SOLUTIONS CAN YOU SUGGEST

A large number of cities in the world nowadays have to confront the rising problem of housing shortage for their citizens. This essay will discuss some of the main reasons and some practical solutions that I would recommend.

To begin with, I would argue that overpopulation and the migration of people who live in the rural areas to big cities are the two major reasons that trigger the serious shortage of housing. Since there are more promising job opportunities in cities, people tend to find well-paid jobs in big corporations that located in the metropolis. That lead to the huge demand of people for having a place to live in this urban area. Secondly the rate of birth now seems to uncontrollably rise with the report about one hundred newborn babies per minute in an average country. If there is no action taken by the authorities, the population will continuously rise and bring disadvantages in solving the issue.

Hence, there are two feasible solutions that can be taken into serious consideration. Firstly, authorities should promulgate an urgent population policy that a household family is only allowed to have 2 children. This strategy is now implemented in many countries like Vietnam and received positive effects within just 10 years. Secondly, urbanisation should also be produced. With this improvement, more companies, workshops and big corporations providing employment for people can be erected on a larger scale, not only in the central areas like the past. This leads to the increase of more urban areas that attract the attention of people and the decrease of over-populated areas.

In conclusion, as far as I observe, the shortage of housing results from two main causes, the overpopulation and the imigration, however, authorities can deal with it with the application of some new policies as I mentioned.