Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest?

Numerous cities in all over the world have been in adversity of shortage of accomodation gravely in recent years. Some reasons explaining this issue and suggested solutions will be presented in this essay.

There are two main reasons why lack of housing is a grave problem in many cities. Firstly, due to the outbreak of population since the birth rate in many countries have experienced a significant increase recently, it seems that there is not enough houses for everyone, especially for urban drwellers. As a result, more and more people are in need of purchasing a house or an apartment to settle which thereby makes housing a serious problem. Secondly, at the same time, the government and housing planners do not have suitable strategies to build enough high-rise buildings or houses to meet the demand of an ever-increasing number of people who long to own a house. Consequently, lack of accomodation becomes one of the most prevailence in cities.

To tackle this problem, suitable and imperative solutions should be taken immediately by both city residence and the government. Regarding individual scale, each person should be an abiding-law citizen, which means that they should follow the national birth control policy. Specifically, each family should have one or two children in order to guarrantee them a shelter once they are grown-up, which thereby incidentally reduces the demand of housing. On governmental scale, I believe that speeding up the progress of planning and constructing more and more high-storey buildings will help to handle the current requirements of housing in many cities.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the high demand of housing amongst urban habitants and unsuitable strategy in housing planning are the reasons for this problem. Hence, both the urban communities and the government should deal this issue together.