Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

An ever-increasing number of couples recently have been found to decide to take parental roles later in their life. There are numerous reasons explaining why they are drawn to do so, thereby it is understandable that this trend may leave impacts on society in general and family life in particular.

There are two major explainations why more and more couples want to have kids when they are young. Firstly, some individuals prioritize their career in lieu of having children, especially when they are young, enthusiastic, dynamic and at their peak of their career. Instead of taking care of their children, they spend their valuable time to endeavour to their works in order to increase the productivity in companies which is conducive to their future promotion and their desired income. Secondly, others of the opinion that youth is the precious time to enjoy life on their own without waring about any commonly received responsibility, such as being parents.

However, the decision of having children late is detrimental to family life as well as the society. Regarding family life, it will be more challenging for parents to bond close-knit relationship with their children due to the generation gap. There will be a huge difference in thinking of the two generations, thus, they oftentimes do not share the same voice together. On society scale, giving birth at old ages easily affects health of mothers and babies. For example, women who are over 35 years old are likelihood to have miscarriage or stillbirth if they are pregnant. Also, in case they give birth successfully, their children are more likely to have DOWN syndromes. Consequently, it will have adverse impacts on healthcare system of a country and the productivity of the economy.

In conclusion, it seems to me that prioritize career and utilize youth for enjoying life are reasons why more young couples decide to have babies late. However, this trend may leave negative impacts on both family and society.