Developments in technology have brought various environmental problem. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

In the era of globalisation and urbanization, technology now plays pivotal roles in our life and consequently it has resulted in thousands of environmental problems. While some individuals argue that living a simpler life is an advantageous solution, others firmly believe that the development of advanced technology is the best solution to this problem. I personally agree with the latter because of some following reasons.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for people to simplify their lives which is also considered as a solution to environmental issues. Firstly, once they reduce unnecessary household electronic equipments such as laundry machine, dishwasher or heaters, they will help the government to save a great amount of electricity. Consequently, it will avert deforestation since electricity demand decreases. Secondly, recycling used goods and devices is much more favorable in lieu of directly throwing them to landfills For example, secondhand clothes which require hundreds of years to disintegrate will be saved and remade into a little vintage purse or curtain. Thereby, it is unchallenging to environmentalists to solve other environmental issues.

On the other hand, I contend that with the fast-paced development of sophisticated technology, environmental problems will be tackled once and for all in the near future. The first reason is that thousands of waste treatment system have been devised to purify wasted water from thousands of manufacturing factories globally before they are poured into the ocean. As a result, water pollution is no longer a hot issue. The second explained to my perspective is that by continuously developing high-tech, alternative and cleaner source of energy will be introduced to our lives. Instead of exploiting fossil fuels, which are about to exhausted to generate electricity, infinite and clean source of energy such as solar energy will be a perfect alternative.

In conclusion, though simplifying our lives is beneficial to solve environmental problems, it seems to me that using technology is the best solution.