Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is not popular in many places? How can its popularity be increased?

It is universially recognized that riding bike is much more environmentally friendly rather than other modes of transportations. However, people now are less prone to cycle due to some reasons. Therefore, measures are of neccessity to be taken in order increase its popularity.

There are two main explainations leading to the decrease in the amount of people cycling, namely the characteristic of riding bicycle and its users Firstly, travelling by bike is obviously time-consuming compared to other means of transportations such as motorbikes or cars. Especially, in this fast-paced life, people are always busy doing their business or entertaining, therefore commuting by bicyle is not a wise choice. Secondly, people in some places are lazy and independent on cars and motorbikes owning to its comfort and convenience. For example, Hanoian, people living in Hanoi (a northen province of Vietnam) are always travelling either by cars or motorbikes regadless of commuting to work or to school.

Therefore, it is imperative to have initiatives to increase the preference as well as the prominance of cylcing. One recommended solution is that government should raise taxes of importing engine vehicles such as motorbikes or cars, thereby raise the cost of these vehicles which discourages people from purchasing them. At the same time, government introduce bicyle as an alternative and campaign the benefits of cycling to people. As a result, more people will be drawn to ride bike.

In conclusion, it seems to me that time-consuming of riding bike and laziness of people are two reasons explaining why more people temporize cycling. To solve this problem, government should impose suitable measure immediately.