Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

There is an ever-increasing number of vegetarians in the modern society because many scientific research have shown that vegetable contains an adequate amount of vitamins and minerals needed for human health. Therefore, eating meat is optional. Personally, I absolutely agree with this opinion.

It should be borne in mind that becoming vegetarian is beneficial. Firstly, a plant-based diet supplies enough nutrition for our health. Various kinds of vitamins and minerals found in vegetable such as A, K, E (to name just a few) are scientifically proven to be vital to human physical and mental developments. These essential nutrients perform hundreds of roles in our body, shoring up bones, healing wounds and bolstering our immune system, for instance. Secondly, vegetable consumption helps to ward off diseases, especially high blood pressure or obesity since it is typically low in fat and high in fiber.

On the other hand, it is also being argued that the consumption of meat is indispensable. Meat is an extremely high content of vitamins and minerals and proteins such as iron and zinc which are essential for being healthy. For example, red meat is an excellent source or proteins which helps build and repair muscles as well as maintain healthy hair, bone and skin. However, according to a novel health research at Hanoi Medical University last year, meat consumption directly links to the risks of developing chronic illness such as heart diseases, diabetes and some forms of cancer and obesity. Additionally, since a lot of vital nutrients in meat can be found in vegetable, a meat-based diet is nonobligatory and in fact, it is not being recommended in a balanced, healthy diet.

In conclusion, although meat is necessary, plant foods is enough to have to healthy diet.