A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at an institution or organisation as part of their programme.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this requirement?

An ever-increasing number of institutions obligatorily make their students take an unpaid job in a given period of time in an organisation as a part of their curriculum. As two facets of a coin, this requirement will be both beneficial and detrimental to students and organisations.

On the one hand, a short-term period working without payment in an institution or organisation has numerous advantages. Firstly, students will have chance to partake in real manufacturing process or training courses of a company in order to enhance their knowledge of their major field instead of confining their capacity in the academic record at school. An engineer, for example, should know how to fix mechanical errs in a real machine instead of learning by route all the technical terms in engineering. Secondly, the internship programme will be conducive for students to secure a desire job in the future since it opens a window opportunity for them to work in their dream company without taking part in fiercely competitive labour market right after their graduation. Therefore, students should seize the chance and take advantage of it.

On the other hand, besides the huge advantages that the internship programe offers, there are also some disadvantages of this programe, which should be taken into consideration. One prominent problem is the finacial problem. Without payment, numerous students unquestionably live in dire situation since they have no money to support their life. Another drawback is that there is no guarantee that interns will attain valuable experience in company. My sister, for example, was be an intern for an accountant position in a textile company, however, she was assigned to clean the office and answer the phone from clients in most of her time. As a result, she was so regretful of her time.

In conclusion, it seems to me that working an unpaid job in an organisation or institution has both advantages and disadvantages.