A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at an institution or organisation as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of course requirement?

Nowadays, getting a job or higher education requires both knowledge and hands on experience which makes it hard for fresh graduates as they uasually have zero chance to practice what they have learned. Participating in a short term unpaid job during the programme is required when pupils decide to enter many tertiary courses that has benefits and drawback at the same time.

There are tremedous advantages to students when they involve themselves in working environment. Firstly, academic theories are put into pratice and student would have a perfect chance to improve their soft skills. Academic knowledge is hard to understand unless we put it into action. It become practical information and student would definately remember it longer. Moreover, unpaid work teachs teenagers about kindness, understading of the society and how to overcome hardship in the future as they face many challenges during working period. It is also a good opotunity for them to have a clearer view of their future career since they get to know if dream jobs are suitable job or not and they would not regret in the future. At this point, they are able to work as they please, not because of financial needs, they would find out their interest in a specific type of job.

On the other hand, working as such early age has disadvantages as well. Most student are stressful with their study, taking a job as the same time may make them overloaded and hard to balance. Many organisations require them to work during weekends, therfore, time for recreation is replaced by work shift. Being stucked between work and study, students have no choice but to to their best. It may seem like a good idea but the result of both sudy and work may not be good at all. Furthermore, youngsters tend to lose their temper easily so this kind of exhausting work may encourage them to treat their workmate wrongly just to release the stress.

In conclution, undertaking a short term unpaid work during a course is vital for students. This kind oj job should be arrange in way that suitable and easy for them to follow.