Many young people leave school with negative attitudes towards learning. Why? What can be done to encourage a positive attitude to learning in young people?

These days, more and more students drop out of school for having negative prejudice towards learning. This trend may be caused by the ignorance of educators and ineffective teaching methods, and there are some potential actions that can be taken by teachers and schools to address this problem.

The first reason why students hold bad opinions about schooling and leave schools may be constant theory-oriented lessons at school. As teachers only give academic information without visual aids or practical experiences, lessons at school become boring and monotonous, failing to attract students’ concentration. Coupled with that, intense pressure from parents to gain excellent marks in examinations is another cause for this phenomenon. It is because parents hold a tradition opinion that success is attributed to good performance in all examinations. As a result, learning at school becomes a burden and a critical task that remains no pleasure for young students, and dropping out of school is their only choice.

Fortunately, a number of measures can be taken to deal with this problem. The first one is to allow students to occasionally take part in practical experiences, which can effectively raise their learning spirit. For example, many schools in the USA have organised school trips to the forests, where students can discover natural world filled with different species. This will help provoke students’ natural curiosity towards new things, thus incentivizing their learning interest. In addition, parents should encourage their children, even when they fail instead of forcing them to achieve a goal at any expense. Consequently, marking pressure on students could be minimized and schoolers can enjoy their study.

To conclude, tedious theory-based lessons and being overwhelmingly forced to get high marks can drive young people to form negative views over schooling and cease their academic path. However, the addition of real-life experiences and adults’ encouragement can be combined to reduce pressure and foster students’ interest in studying.