Many young people who leave school hold a negative attitude towards learning. Why does this happen? What are the solutions?

These days, it is reported that an increasing number of school leavers tend to develop negative thoughts about schools. In general, there are several main reasons associated with this situation and some possible solutions can be taken to alleviate it in an effective way.

The fact that those leaving school usually dislike learning is attributed to a host of reasons. The first one is due to the inappropriate school curriculum. Particularly, students are generally supposed to learn unnecessary subjects such as history which requires them to memorize specific terms and dates in every lesson. However, students consider it a waste of time and find it unimportant to their future career. In addition, boring teaching techniques should be blamed for. Specifically, teachers have a tendency to deliver lessons based on conventional teaching methods. In other words, there is no interaction in the classroom since students have to learn by heart most of the facts from textbook without a deep understanding of the content. This eventually leads to tedious days at school.

There are certain steps that can be addressed to cope with students who experience negative emotions toward school. To begin with, the Ministry of Education is advised to transform school programs. For example, unnecessary subjects should be replaced by practical courses, namely problem-solving skills, teamwork and collaboration and critical thinking skills which are likely to give learners precious opportunities to apply theoretical knowledge to real life situations. More importantly, there is a need for innovative lesson plans by taking advantage of multimedia, for example, video clips or music and creating interactive activities. This would help turn the classroom into a lively learning environment and promote students’ engagement.

In conclusion, the negative opinion of learning among younger generations is mainly caused by the way the school curriculum and lessons are designed. Nevertheless, the measures mentioned above can be taken into account to change students’ thinking.