The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places.

What are the serious problems?

What measures can be used to solve these problems?

These days, an increasing number of people tend to migrate from rural to urban areas for the sake of jobs. Although this trend can result in adverse impacts on both places, there are several potential solutions to tackle them. / a number of possible solutions could be taken to tackle them.

There are several potential problems associated with this migration. Firstly, moving from farming regions to cities would probably have a detrimental impact on the environment. To give an illustration, a massive number of people tend to settle down in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam annually because this prosperous city offers handsome job opportunities. However, a high population density leads to air pollution because of a substantial amount of CO2 emitted by personal vehicles which are the primary mode of transport in this city. Secondly, agricultural provinces may have to suffer labour shortages for production activities. This is likely to deteriorate the national economy as agriculture is one of the main sectors in some countries.

To tackle the problems of migrations, certain measures can be conducted. The first solution would be updating public transport systems, particularly bus or subway. The most concerning reason for air contamination comes from fossil fuels such as gas, petrol and oil which can be replaced by alternative sources of energy to reduce the amount of carbon dioxide and enhance the air quality. In addition, the investment in top-notch machines is considered to supersede the traditional labour workforce. This would help farmers cope with a scarcity of workers, boost productivity as well as contribute to the economic growth in countries relying on agricultural production.

In conclusion, the fact that people leave farming areas and move to urban ones can cause urban pollution and a lack of agricultural workers. Nevertheless, these problems would be alleviated by using alternative energy and utilising machines to replace human labour.