As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Globalization is happening nowadays at a rapid rate than ever before, fueled by the growth of telecommunication, transport, education and technology. This has lead the way to make the world much smaller and easily accessible. But, will it invariably lead to a total loss of cultural identity?. Well, I believe not. In this essay, I will further elaborate why such phenomena is impossible.

No culture is meant to last forever. Change is inevitable to cultures as well as it is to everything else. For example, India has a rich culture that dates back to much more than 25 centuries, and has one sixth of world population with hundreds of languages and thousands of cultural festivals, events and traditions that are unique to their religions, languages and states. It is hard to believe that even with the rapid globalization, such a massive population with multi cultural, multi religious inheritance will be changed to follow a one unified culture and language that is commanded by the globalization. There would be many adjustments that would partly change the cultures to a certain extent towards a unified global culture, but it will not be the same for everything related to the culture.

Furthermore, the technology has come up in more creative ways that there would be devices that helps preserve the cultural identity while being aligned with globalization, for example, the scientists have now developed handheld electronic translators which helps you to commiunicate with anybody from any language without the language barrier.

There may be a very very remote chance of total loss of cultural identity happening with rapid globalization in a very rare event where the entire world comes under the rule of one country or nation and they would force everybody to follow that culture and where those who refuse to obey will be killed. But that kind of scenario happening in real life is almost impossible with respect to the current world political and geographical dimensions.

Therefore, in conclusion, I firmly believe that even with rapid globalization, the total loss of cultural indetity is nearly impossible. But there is still a chance that all cultures will change to a certain extent in order to be aligned with the rest of the world and there will be more respect and recognition for the difference in each cultures among all human beings.